Author Topic: 18650 Battery Recycling  (Read 4185 times)

Offline gearhounds

• View Profile
18650 Battery Recycling
« on: September 29, 2011, 02:53:05 PM »
I've been doing this for a couple of years now, and have had so much success with it, I thought I'd share the info for those that aren't already doing it.

It started when an old Dell lap top battery pack went "bad", and I was curious what I would find inside it. When I opened the pack, I was surprised to find 18650 Li-ion batteries. Since that time, I have taken apart about 15 or so packs and kept some, given some away. Here is typically what happens.

I start with a "bad" battery pack. I say "bad" because the packs register on the computer as so. This time around I am working with an HP pack.

The only tools I've needed for disassembly are :

I start by finding a seam between halves of the pack housing.

After gently prying the haves slightly apart with a heavy knife blade, I carefully insert a screwdriver blade and twist to seperate. Some packs pop right open, some (like this one) take a little more effort. Take care not to probe inside the pack; often some of the batteries have a good charge and can shock or ground out, and exposed circuit boards are still hot.

Here is typically what you will see upon opening.

The battery/electronics assembly generally pops right out.

I have found batteries manufactured by LG, Samsung, Sanyo, Panasonic, and Sony. The power range has been anywhere from 2200mAh to 2600mAh. A little research shows this pack to contain LG 2200mAh batteries.

I usually pull the battery packs apart in groups (the batteries are wired in parallel, and the parallel packs in series for the desired combination of voltage vs. mAh.

Be very careful when separating the individual batteries. The tac-welded tabs are extremely sharp, especially when they are cut or torn. Use needle nose pliers for any tab removal.